Upcoming Dates

Beyond All Sense 2005

This is not the new Destiny album or even the follow-up to Future Of The Past, released in 2004. This is a re-recorded version of Destiny’s very first album Beyond All Sense, released in March 1985.

The original album was just released in Sweden in a limited number of 2000 copies and only on vinyl. Those of you that have the original album know that it was not a perfect album, but hopefully you will agree with me that the songs were pretty good.

We, Destiny of 2005, feel that it would be appropriate to give those songs a new chance with this all new re-recording in time for the 20th anniversary of the original album. We started to record the first drums way back in the year 2000 and then kept recording parts whenever we got some spare time. In the end we re-recorded all parts of the album once
again last year, 2004, except for the drums. We did not set out to purposely rearrange any of the songs, but when an idea presented itself we usually used it.

Even though I wrote some parts of a couple of the songs, and was very involved with the arrangements, most of the music for this album was written by Magnus Österman, co-founder and original guitarist of Destiny, and John Prodén, also an original guitarist. Håkan Ring, who was the bands first male singer, wrote most of the lyrics.

Two songs are missing from the original release; the instrumental acoustic piece “Lost To Heaven” performed by John Prodén alone and the intro piece “Destiny” that always starts the Destiny concerts. They are replaced by two previously unreleased bonus tracks
from around the same time period.

The oldest piece of music, “Ode To You”, is from 1983. However, the lyrics for this song are brand new, written by Kristoffer in December 2004 as a tribute to the late Dimebag Darrel. This song was never released on any album and is the first bonus track on this album. The second bonus track, “No Way Out”, was a song originally intended to be included on the debut album, but was left out because of the time limit on vinyls.
Once again Kristoffer wrote brand new lyrics for an older piece of music. This time it’s about Ozzy Osbourne and reality shows.

I believe that we have kept the original spirit of all the songs in these new versions. The major difference is of course the vocals. Kristoffer has truly given these songs a well deserved new lease of life. I also feel that the album is full of energy, with a live feeling, even though the music is not as “dark” as later Destiny albums.

This is the members of Destiny of 2004 interpreting more than twenty year old songs by the members of Destiny of 1984. Hopefully you will enjoy the album for what it is, even though the style of the album is quite different from the music that Destiny represents in 2005.

/Stefan Björnshög January 18, 2005

Buy the album here »


• Kristoffer Göbel- Vocals
• Stefan Björnshög – Bass
• Janne Ekberg – Guitars
• Birger Löfman- Drums

• Produced by Destiny
• Arranged by ”Destiny 1984″ and ”Destiny 2004″

• Recorded at DRS, Gothenburg, Sweden and StudiOmega, Varberg, Sweden
• Engineered by Janne Ekberg, Christer Lindblad and Christian Silver
• Mixed by Christian Silver at StudiOmega, Varberg, Sweden
Mastered by Dragan Tanaskovic at Bohus Sound Recording, Kungälv, Sweden.

• Cover by Bengt Grönkvist/Grönkvist Art & Design AB –
• 3D-artwork & logo by Staffan Falkenström/Pixel Productions –

• Live photos by Conny Myrberg, & Ken Olsson

• Bonus DVD produced by Pixel Productions
• Video ”In The Shadow Of The Rainbow” directed by Astronaut

• Cover by Staffan Falkenström –
• Photos by Kenneth Johansson

Additional Musicians

• Fredrik Olsson; Lead and 12-string acoustic guitars
• Mathias Rosén; Keyboards on ”Power by Birth”
• Linus Wikström; Harmony guitar on ”Sirens In The Dark”

1. Sacrilege 4:30
Music: Prodén
Lyrics: Ring

2. Kill The Witch 3:48
Music: Prodén
Lyrics: Ring

3. Ode To You * 4:08 (bonus track)
Music: Österman/Björnshög
Lyrics: Göbel

4. Spellbreaker 4:11
Music: Österman
Lyrics: Österman

5. Power By Birth 4:53
Music: Österman/Prodén
Lyrics: Österman

6. Rest In Peace 5:12
Music: Österman/Prodén
Lyrics: Ring

7. Madame Guillotine (Hang Them High) 3:44
Music: Prodén/Björnshög
Lyrics: Ring/Göbel

8. No Way Out * 4:13 (bonus track)
Music: Prodén/Björnshög
Lyrics: Göbel

9. More Evil Than Evil 4:04
Music: Prodén
Lyrics: Ring

10. Sirens In The Dark 7:34
Music: Österman/Björnshög
Lyrics: Ring

Date →
Maj 1
Tags →

Leave Your Comment